People

  • Professor
  • 1710 South Hall
  • Professor

Race, labor, empire, social movements, urban studies, Latin American studies, Central America, Marxism, liberation theology

  • (805) 722-4556
  • 1706 South Hall
  • Assistant Professor
Maya social movements and resistance, extractivist industries, migration, and forced displacement, Guatemala, Central American Studies
  • Professor Emerita
  • Professor
  • Faculty Graduate Advisor

U.S. Spanish-language media; Chicana and Latina Popular Culture; Radio & Sound Practices; Racial Politics of Language; Accent Studies; Langauge Learning Technologies; and Ethnic Studies within K-12 schools.

  • 1705 South Hall
  • https://ucsb.zoom.us/my/casillas
  • Graduate Program Advisor

Graduate Program Assistant for UCSB's Chicana and Chicano Studies Department

  • (805) 893-5269
  • 1721 South Hall
Profile picture of Dr. Micaela Diaz-Sanchez
  • Assistant Professor

Chicana/o and Latina/o Performance Studies, Visual Culture and Cultural Studies, Afro-Latina/o Diaspora Studies, Chicana/Latina Feminisms, Chicana/o and Latina/o Theater History and Ethnomusicology, Dramaturgy, Acting Methodology

Mario T. Garcia
  • Professor

Chicano history, race and ethnicity, southwestern history, autobiography, Latino religion

  • 1720 South Hall
  • Assistant Professor

Immigration; Latinx Sociology; Intersectionality; Medical Sociology; Sociology of Mental Health; Aging; Social Determinants of Health

  • South Hall 1708
  • Associate Professor
  • DEI Officer

20th Century American Literature

U.S. Minority & Ethnic Literature

Cultural Studies & Critical Theory

Chicana/o & U.S. Latina/o Studies

Gender & Sexuality Studies

Sexual Minorities & Immigration

  • 1702 South Hall
Aída Hurtado
  • Department Chair
  • Professor
  • Luis Leal Endowed Chair

Equity issues in education for Chicanas/os, Chicana feminist theory, media representations of Latinos & other ethnic & racial groups, social identity, including ethnic identity

  • (805) 893-8807
  • 1709 South Hall
Esther Iluyomade
  • Finanical/Office Assistant
  • (805) 893-8880
  • 1714 South Hall
  • Professor Emeritus

Chicana/o Literature, Latin American and indigenous mythologies

Pages

Affiliated Faculty

Rudy V. Busto
Religious Studies
rude@religion.ucsb.edu

Leo Cabranes-Grant
Theater & Dance and Spanish & Portuguese
cabranes@theaterdance.ucsb.edu

Veronica Castillo-Muñoz
History
castillomunoz@history.ucsb.edu

Miroslava Chavez-Garcia
History
mchavezgarcia@chicst.ucsb.edu

Andres J. Consoli
Counseling, Clinical, and School Psychology
aconsoli@ucsb.edu

Melissa Morgan Consoli
Education

mmorgan@education.ucsb.edu

Reginald G. Daniel
Sociology
rdaniel@soc.ucsb.edu

Richard Duran
Education
duran@education.ucsb.edu

Carl Gutierrez-Jones
English
carlgj@english.ucsb.edu

Cherríe Moraga
English
cmoraga@english.ucsb.edu

Ben Olguín
English
ben.olguin@english.ucsb.edu

Rebeca Mireles Rios
Education
rmireles@education.ucsb.edu

Victor Rios
Sociology
vrios@soc.ucsb.edu

Willian I. Robinson
Sociology
wirobins@soc.ucsb.edu

Laura Romo
Education
lromo@education.ucsb.edu

Denise A. Segura
Sociology
segura@soc.ucsb.edu

Roberto Strongman
Black Studies
rstrongman@blackstudies.ucsb.edu

Jennifer Tyburczy
Feminist Studies
jtyburczy@femst.ucsb.edu

Cristina Venegas
Film & Media Studies
venegas@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu

Howard A. Winant
Sociology
hwinant@soc.ucsb.edu