People

  • Professor

Mayan hieroglyphic history, Mesoamerican art, indigeneity, experimental archaeology, science & technology studies

  • (805) 893-5713
  • 1710 South Hall
  • Department Chair
  • Professor

Race, labor, empire, social movements, urban studies, Latin American studies, Central America, Marxism, liberation theology

  • (805) 722-4556
  • 1706 South Hall
  • 1714 South Hall
  • Professor Emerita
  • Associate Professor
  • Graduate Student

Nationalisms; Gender and Sexuality; Chicana/o/x-Latina/o/x Cultural Expressions; Neoliberal Multiculturalism and Equity in Higher Education

Micaela J. Díaz-Sánchez
  • Assistant Professor

Chicana/o and Latina/o Performance Studies, Visual Culture and Cultural Studies, Afro-Latina/o Diaspora Studies, Chicana/Latina Feminisms, Chicana/o and Latina/o Theater History and Ethnomusicology, Dramaturgy, Acting Methodology

Joann Erving
  • Business Officer
  • (805) 893-8807
  • 1717 South Hall
Mario T. Garcia
  • Professor

Chicano history, race and ethnicity, southwestern history, autobiography, Latino religion

  • (805) 893-4074
  • 1720 South Hall
  • Assistant Professor

Immigration; Latinx Sociology; Intersectionality; Medical Sociology; Sociology of Mental Health; Aging; Social Determinants of Health

  • South Hall 1708
  • Graduate Student

Latina Sexuality; Embodied Sexual Aesthetics; Racialized Sexuality; Feminized Labor within Modern Capitalism; Digital Sex Work; Sex and Cultural Production

 
  • Lecturer

literary and multimedia art of Chicanas/os, narrative and rhetoric, Chicana/o historiography, media studies, cultural semiotics

  • Undergraduate Advisor
  • (805) 893-5450
  • South Hall 1718
Ellie D. Hernández
  • Associate Professor

20th Century American literature, U.S. Minority and Ethnic Literature, Cultural Studies and Critical Theory, Chicana/o and U.S. Latina/o Studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Sexual Minorities and Immigration

  • 1723 South Hall

Pages

Affiliated Faculty

Rudy V. Busto
Religious Studies
rude@religion.ucsb.edu

Leo Cabranes-Grant
Theater & Dance and Spanish & Portuguese
cabranes@theaterdance.ucsb.edu

Veronica Castillo-Muñoz
History
castillomunoz@history.ucsb.edu

Miroslava Chavez-Garcia
History
mchavezgarcia@chicst.ucsb.edu

Andres J. Consoli
Counseling, Clinical, and School Psychology
aconsoli@ucsb.edu

Melissa Morgan Consoli
Education

mmorgan@education.ucsb.edu

Reginald G. Daniel
Sociology
rdaniel@soc.ucsb.edu

Richard Duran
Education
duran@education.ucsb.edu

Carl Gutierrez-Jones
English
carlgj@english.ucsb.edu

George Lipsitz
Black Studies & Sociology
glipsitz@blackstudies.ucsb.edu

Cherríe Moraga
English
cmoraga@english.ucsb.edu

Carlos Morton
Department of Theater & Dance
cmorton@theaterdance.ucsb.edu

Ben Olguín
English
ben.olguin@english.ucsb.edu

Rebeca Mireles Rios
Education
rmireles@education.ucsb.edu

Victor Rios
Sociology
vrios@soc.ucsb.edu

Willian I. Robinson
Sociology
wirobins@soc.ucsb.edu

Laura Romo
Education
lromo@education.ucsb.edu

Denise A. Segura
Sociology
segura@soc.ucsb.edu

Roberto Strongman
Black Studies
rstrongman@blackstudies.ucsb.edu

Edward Telles
Sociology
etelles@soc.ucsb.edu

Cristina Venegas
Film & Media Studies
venegas@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu

Howard A. Winant
Sociology
hwinant@soc.ucsb.edu