People

Aída Hurtado
  • Department Chair
  • Professor
  • Luis Leal Endowed Chair

Equity issues in education for Chicanas/os, Chicana feminist theory, media representations of Latinos & other ethnic & racial groups, social identity, including ethnic identity

  • 1709 South Hall
  • Graduate Student

Third World Feminist theories, Latina Feminist theology, Guadalupan studies, Religious Performativity,  Latinx Cultural Production, Decolonial Theory and Politics, Media studies, Cultural Studies theories and methodologies, Language & Literature; Art

  • Professor Emeritus

Chicana/o Literature, Latin American and indigenous mythologies

  • Graduate Program Assistant
  • She/Her/Hers

Graduate Program Assistant at Chicana and Chicano Studies Department

  • 805-893-5269
  • 1721 South Hall
  • Professor Emeritus

Literary history, Chicano Literature (particularly narrative theory), New Mexico Studies, Latin American Literature (particularly novel and regional studies on Central America, Mexico, Chile)

  • Graduate Student

Pre-colonial Birthing Technologies, Politics of Pleasure During Birth, Epigenetics and Birth Outcomes for Black and Latinx Birthing People, Non-Western Healing, Free Birth

  • Lecturer

Chicana/o Politics, Community-building organizations and Community Service Practices

  • Graduate Student

Chicana Feminisms; Decolonial Feminisms; Migration Studies; Affect Theory; Latinx Performance Studies; Decolonial Theory; Race and ethnicity; Gender and sexuality

  • Graduate Student

Idigeneity, Oaxacan Students in Higher Education, Idigenous youth organizing and activism, Undocumented students/communities, Masculinity in immigrant activist groups, Gender dynamics of undocumented student activism.

  • Undergraduate Advisor
  • South Hall 1718
  • Graduate Student

Cultural Political Economy; Labor; Foodways; Urban Studies; Internationalism; Marxism; China; Spatial Mestizaje

  • Graduate Student
  • Graduate Student
  • Assistant Professor

Structural inequality, legal violence, Youth Participatory Action Research (YPAR), ethnic studies, K-12 education, immigration policy, mixed-status families, childhood, humor/satire, mindfulness, borders, undocumented youth and children, and arts and artivism through performance and digital media.

  • Assistant Professor

Transnational Migration and Children of Immigrants; Identity and Community Formation; Oaxaca, Los Angeles

  • 1707 South Hall

Pages

Affiliated Faculty

Rudy V. Busto
Religious Studies
rude@religion.ucsb.edu

Leo Cabranes-Grant
Theater & Dance and Spanish & Portuguese
cabranes@theaterdance.ucsb.edu

Veronica Castillo-Muñoz
History
castillomunoz@history.ucsb.edu

Miroslava Chavez-Garcia
History
mchavezgarcia@chicst.ucsb.edu

Andres J. Consoli
Counseling, Clinical, and School Psychology
aconsoli@ucsb.edu

Melissa Morgan Consoli
Education

mmorgan@education.ucsb.edu

Reginald G. Daniel
Sociology
rdaniel@soc.ucsb.edu

Richard Duran
Education
duran@education.ucsb.edu

Carl Gutierrez-Jones
English
carlgj@english.ucsb.edu

Cherríe Moraga
English
cmoraga@english.ucsb.edu

Ben Olguín
English
ben.olguin@english.ucsb.edu

Rebeca Mireles Rios
Education
rmireles@education.ucsb.edu

Victor Rios
Sociology
vrios@soc.ucsb.edu

Willian I. Robinson
Sociology
wirobins@soc.ucsb.edu

Laura Romo
Education
lromo@education.ucsb.edu

Denise A. Segura
Sociology
segura@soc.ucsb.edu

Roberto Strongman
Black Studies
rstrongman@blackstudies.ucsb.edu

Jennifer Tyburczy
Feminist Studies
jtyburczy@femst.ucsb.edu

Cristina Venegas
Film & Media Studies
venegas@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu

Howard A. Winant
Sociology
hwinant@soc.ucsb.edu