People

  • Professor
  • Department Chair

Mayan hieroglyphic history, Mesoamerican art, indigeneity, experimental archaeology, science & technology studies

  • (805) 893-3601
  • 1710 South Hall
Ralph Armbruster-Sandoval
  • Professor

Race, labor, empire, social movements, urban studies, Latin American studies, pedagogy, Marxism, liberation theology

  • (805) 893-5709
  • 1706 South Hall
  • Professor Emerita
  • Associate Professor

U.S. Spanish-language media, radio/sound practices, language politics, Latino popular culture, gender & migration

Micaela J. Díaz-Sánchez
  • Assistant Professor

Chicana/o and Latina/o Performance Studies, Visual Culture and Cultural Studies, Afro-Latina/o Diaspora Studies, Chicana/Latina Feminisms, Chicana/o and Latina/o Theater History and Ethnomusicology, Dramaturgy, Acting Methodology

Joann Erving
  • Business Officer
  • (805) 893-8807
  • 1717 South Hall
  • Lecturer

Chicanx education pipeline; community colleges and challenges to transfer; inequity and inequality in education; access to higher education; STEM student attrition; and mixed methods

  • Lecturer

Chicano history, race and ethnicity, labor, immigration, U.S.-Mexico border

Mario T. Garcia
  • Professor

Chicano history, race and ethnicity, southwestern history, autobiography, Latino religion

  • (805) 893-4074
  • 1720 South Hall
  • Lecturer

literary and multimedia art of Chicanas/os, narrative and rhetoric, Chicana/o historiography, media studies, cultural semiotics

Shariq Hashmi
  • Undergraduate Advisor
Ellie D. Hernández
  • Associate Professor

20th Century American literature, U.S. Minority and Ethnic Literature, Cultural Studies and Critical Theory, Chicana/o and U.S. Latina/o Studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Sexual Minorities and Immigration

  • 1723 South Hall

Pages

Affiliated Faculty

Rudy V. Busto
Religious Studies
rude@religion.ucsb.edu

Leo Cabranes-Grant
Theater & Dance and Spanish & Portuguese
cabranes@theaterdance.ucsb.edu

Veronica Castillo-Muñoz
History
castillomunoz@history.ucsb.edu

Miroslava Chavez-Garcia
History
mchavezgarcia@chicst.ucsb.edu

Melissa Morgan Consoli
Education
mmorgan@education.ucsb.edu

Reginald G. Daniel
Sociology
rdaniel@soc.ucsb.edu

Richard Duran
Education
duran@education.ucsb.edu

Carl Gutierrez-Jones
English
carlgj@english.ucsb.edu

George Lipsitz
Black Studies & Sociology
glipsitz@blackstudies.ucsb.edu

Cherríe Moraga
English
cmoraga@english.ucsb.edu

Carlos Morton
Department of Theater & Dance
cmorton@theaterdance.ucsb.edu

Ben Olguín
English
ben.olguin@english.ucsb.edu

Rebeca Mireles Rios
Education
rmireles@education.ucsb.edu

Victor Rios
Sociology
vrios@soc.ucsb.edu

Celia Herrera Rodriguez
English
chrodriguez@english.ucsb.edu

Laura Romo
Education
lromo@education.ucsb.edu

Denise A. Segura
Sociology
segura@soc.ucsb.edu

Roberto Strongman
Black Studies
rstrongman@blackstudies.ucsb.edu

Inés Talamantez
Religious Studies
talamant@religion.ucsb.edu

Cristina Venegas
Film & Media Studies
venegas@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu

Howard A. Winant
Sociology
hwinant@soc.ucsb.edu