Chicano Studies | About | Major Requirements | M.A./Ph.D. | Institute | Colección/CEMA | Courses | Faculty/Staff | Luis Leal | Alumni
 Graduate Student Community | Student Information | Employment | Accolades & News | Research & Honors Opportunities | Wait List
UCSB
Faculty

Faculty | Administration
Visiting Faculty | Visiting Artists | Affiliated Faculty

 Faculty
      
Gerardo Aldana, Ph.D.

Gerardo Aldana, Ph.D.

Professor
Harvard University
gvaldana@chicst.ucsb.edu

more info...

 
Ralph Armbruster-Sandoval, Ph.D.

Ralph Armbruster-Sandoval, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
University of California, Riverside
armbrust@chicst.ucsb.edu

more info...

 
Edwina Barvosa, Ph.D.

Edwina Barvosa, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Harvard University
barvosa@chicst.ucsb.edu

more info...

 
Dolores Inés Casillas

Dolores Inés Casillas, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies

University of Michigan
casillas@chicst.ucsb.edu

more info...

 
Miroslava Chavez-Garcia

Miroslava Chavez-Garcia

Professor
University of California, Los Angeles
mchavezgarcia@chicst.ucsb.edu

more info...

         
Mario T. Garcia, Ph.D.

Mario T. Garcia, Ph.D.

Professor
University of California, San Diego
garcia@history.ucsb.edu

more info...

 
Ellie Hernandez

Ellie D. Hernández, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
University of California, Berkeley
ehernandez@femst.ucsb.edu

more info...

 
Aída Hurtado

Aída Hurtado, Ph.D.

Professor and Luis Leal Endowed Chair
University of Michigan
aida@chicst.ucsb.edu

more info...

 
Francisco Lomelí, Ph.D.

Francisco Lomelí, Ph.D.

Professor
University of New Mexico
lomeli@chicst.ucsb.edu

more info...

 
Maria Herrera Sobek, Ph.D.

Maria Herrera Sobek, Ph.D.

Professor and Associate Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity, and Academic Policy
University of California, Los Angeles
maria.sobek@evc.ucsb.edu

more info...

     
Horacio N. Roque Ramírez, Ph.D.

Horacio N. Roque Ramírez, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
University of California, Berkeley
roqueramirez@chicst.ucsb.edu

more info...

 
Chela Sandoval, Ph.D.

Chela Sandoval, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
University of California, Santa Cruz
sandoval@chicst.ucsb.edu

more info...

   
Denise A. Segura

Denise A. Segura

Chair, Department of Chicana and Chicano Studies
Professor

University of California, Berkeley
segura@chicst.ucsb.edu

more info...

 
Tara J. Yosso, Ph.D.

Tara J. Yosso, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

University of California, Los Angeles
yosso@chicst.ucsb.edu

more info...

   
 Administration go to top
 
Sonya Baker

Sonya Baker

Undergraduate Advisor
sbaker@chicst.ucsb.edu

more info...

    
Joann Erving

Joann Erving

Business Officer
jerving@chicst.ucsb.edu

more info...

 
Shariq Hashmi

Shariq Hashmi, M.A.

Graduate Advisor
shashmi@chicst.ucsb.edu

more info...

      
 Visiting Faculty go to top

Alonso Benavides, Ph.D.
Email: abenav1476@aol.com
 

Faviana Hirsch-Dubin, Ph.D.
Email: faviana5@aol.com
Teaching areas: Mayan ethnomathematics; Chicanas/os in education and in mathematics; Indigenous pedagogies and indigenous movements (including the Zapatistas)
 

Marisela Marquez, Ph.D.
Email: mmarq80@hotmail.com
Teaching areas: Chicana/o Politics, Community-building organizations, and Community Service Practices.
 

Emiko Saldivar, Ph.D.
Email: saldivar@anth.ucsb.edu
Teaching areas: Race in the Americas, Indigenous Mexicanidad in Mexico and the U.S., and Theories of Mestizaje.
 

 Visiting Artists go to top

Monica Palacios
Email: monicapalacios@earthlink.net
Website: www.monicapalacios.com
BA: San Francisco State University
Creative Writing Concentration: Chico State University
Teaching areas:  Autobiographical Writing & Performing; Women of Color in Film; Queer Studies
 

 Affiliated Faculty go to top

Stephanie Batiste
Black Studies and English
sbatiste@english.ucsb.edu

Rudy V. Busto
Religious Studies
rude@religion.ucsb.edu

Leo Cabranes-Grant
Theater & Dance and Spanish & Portuguese
cabranes@theaterdance.ucsb.edu

Sarah Cline
History
cline@history.ucsb.edu

Reginald G. Daniel
Sociology
rdaniel@soc.ucsb.edu

Richard Duran
Education
duran@education.ucsb.edu

Carl Gutierrez-Jones
English
carlgj@english.ucsb.edu

Gaye Theresa Johnson
Black Studies
gtjohnson@blackstudies.ucsb.edu

Gabriela Soto Laveaga
History
gsotolaveaga@history.ucsb.edu

George Lipsitz
Black Studies & Sociology
glipsitz@blackstudies.ucsb.edu

Claudine Michel
Black Studies
michel@blackstudies.ucsb.edu

Carlos Morton
Department of Theater & Dance
cmorton@theaterdance.ucsb.edu

Victor Rios
Sociology
vrios@soc.ucsb.edu

Laura Romo
Education
lromo@education.ucsb.edu

Denise A. Segura
Sociology
segura@soc.ucsb.edu

Roberto Strongman
Black Studies
rstrongman@blackstudies.ucsb.edu

Inés Talamantez
Religious Studies
talamant@religion.ucsb.edu

Cristina Venegas
Film & Media Studies
venegas@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu

Howard A. Winant
Sociology
hwinant@soc.ucsb.edu

 
©2014 Regents of California
All information is governed by the Chicana and Chicano Studies Department at UCSB
Website Development by MBB Design